BioWork

The BioWork certificate program will teach you the foundational skills you need to begin a career as a process technician for a biotechnology, pharmaceutical, or chemical manufacturing company.  Process technicians are responsible for the production of chemical and pharmaceutical products. 

Process technicians:

  • Operate, monitor, and control the production process.
  • Receive, transport, and store materials.
  • Collect and analyze materials used in production.
  • Inspect and maintain the production equipment and control systems.
  • Keep critical records on the process and product.
  • Maintain company safety, health, and environmental standards. 

Skilled process technicians are valued and in demand.  Contact a BioWork program director at your nearest community college to get started today.

Durham Technical Community College
2401 Snow Hill Road
Durham, NC 27712

Ingrid Charles
Director
919-536-7240 ext. 4402
charlesi@durhamtech.edu

Johnston Community College
135 Bestwood Drive
Clayton, NC 27520

Bev Owens
Biotechnology Coordinator
919-209-2514
bjowens@johnstoncc.edu

Piedmont Community College
1715 College Drive
Roxboro, NC 27573

Jeanette Godsey
Program Specialist, Workforce Development
336-322-2156
Jeanette.Godsey@piedmontcc.edu

Vance-Granville Community College
8100 N.C. 56 Highway
Louisburg, NC 27549

Stewart Lyon
252-738-3632
lyons@vgcc.edu

Wake Technical Community College
3434 Kildaire Farm Road
Cary, NC 27518

Mike Morgan, PhD
BioWork Director
919-335-1037
mkmorgan@waketech.edu

Wilson Community College
902 Herring Avenue
Wilson, NC 27893

Kimberly Gamlin
Executive Dean of Continuing Education
252-246-1290
kgamlin@wilsoncc.edu